FRIDAY LUNCH – KATTA WITH SPINACH BIRYANI IN RICE COOKER

Friday Lunch –  Katta with  Spinach Green Split Peas Biryani in Rice Cooker  and Karela Stir fry .img_3477

It is Friday and I ‘m not in the mood of cooking Vegetables. I wanted to eat something different from regular food . While I was talking to my sister, I asked her to suggest a Khichdi or Biryani that I haven’t tried before. She suggested Masoor  Dal Khichdi with Katta .  I needed Masoor Dal so, I checked in my pantry for a substitute for Masoor dal, because I  don’t use much in my Cooking ( Maybe I will buy in my next trip to grocery store to try this Masoor dal khichidi ) . Instead I have Green Split Peas  that I use for Soups  starring at me in the Pantry . I thought I would give this a try  so, I found ingredients for the Rice recipe to go along with it, I needed some gravy i.e Katta means Sour. Need to add few ingredients to make it tastier ( Of course got recipe from my Sister ) . I quickly prepared Karela stir fry ( as meal look incomplete without Vegetable) .

Here is my Friday Lunch Menu  Spinach Split Green Peas Biryani ( Rice)  with Katta and Karela( Bitter gourd)  stir fry . Karela stir fry is Optional , you can just Prepare rice with katta. I Cooked Split Green pea rice in RICE COOKER . Easy and no need to baby sit. Cooks  perfectly with Grains separated and not Mushy .

Recipe for Karela stir fry:

https://vegetarianhomestylecooking2015.wordpress.com/2016/04/25/Bitter gourd

Recipe for 3 .   Preparation and Cooking time : 30 minutes

INGREDIENTS :img_3479

FOR KATTA :

1. Tamarind – Lemon size  

2. Water – 3/4 to 1 cup

3. Salt and turmeric    

4. Oil – 1 tbsp

5. Cumin seeds – 1 tbsp and Red chilli

 6. Curry Leaves and Finely chopped Coriander Leaves

7. Curry Powder – 1/2 tbsp

8. Dry roast Handful of Peanuts with 1 tbsp Sesame seeds . Cool and Grind with 2 tbsp Coconut.

METHOD :img_3475

1. Soak Tamarind in Water and squeeze Pulp.

2. Heat 1 tbsp Oil and add Cumin seeds , red chillies . Switch off the stove and add Curry Leaves and chopped Coriander Leaves .

3. Add tamarind Water to the seasoning followed by Salt, turmeric Powder, Curry Powder and Powdered Peanut Powder . Check for Salt and Spices and adjust accordingly .

RECIPE for  Spinach GREEN SPLIT PEAS BIRYANI :

img_3476img_3478

INGREDIENTS :

1. BASMATI RICE  of your choice – 1 Cup

 2. Split Green Peas – 1/2 Cup

3. Water – 2 cups

   4. Onion – 1 medium ( thinly sliced ) , Garlic cloves – 4 and Grated Ginger – small Piece

5. Salt 

 6. Oil – 4 to 5 tbsp

7. Spinach – 2 Big Handfuls Chopped or Chopped Coriander

8. Whole Garam Masala – 1 tbsp Cumin seeds , 4 Cloves , 3 Cardamom , Cinnamon – small stick , Bay Leaf .

METHOD :

1. Soak Green split Peas . Soak Basmati rice for 30 minutes . After 30 minutes wash rice for 3 to 4 times and add 2 cups water and Salt . Check water for Salt and add accordingly . Wash Split Green Peas and add to the Rice . Transfer Rice with Water and Split Green peas to Rice Cooker Bowl.

2. Heat Oil and fry sliced Onions till light Brown . Once Onions are Brown add Grated Garlic and Ginger and Whole Garam masala. Transfer to rice Bowl .

4. Add Chopped Spinach too . Mix well and Cook in the Rice Cooker .

5. SERVE WARM with Katta .

Leave a Reply

